Some people choose to eat no meat or fish. They believe that this is not only better for their own health but also benefits the world as a whole. Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

Progressively, the number of people choosing not to eat meat or fish is increasing. This stems from the belief that vegetarian options are more healthier for the body and for the world as a whole. However, I partially disagree with this view and in my opinion non-vegetarian food is necessary to be included in one's diet to make it wholesome. This eassy will discuss why people are moving towards vegetarianism. The primary reason for people avoiding meat is, farming cattle and poultry through unnatural means. In today's scenario, to meet the increasing demand for meat, animals are being injected with steroids to increase reproduction and growth rate. When consumed my humans, this in turn has repurcussions and has led to many life-style diseases in men and women alike. For instance, Poly-cystic ovary dysfunction (PCOD) in women is primarily caused by such steroids. The second reason is that animal meat is fatty. This leads to increase in cholesterol in human body and results in risk of cardio-vascular diseases. Hence, people have started to altogether avoid meat or fish to maintain a health body. Some are of the view that reducing meat consumption also leads to a better world. Recent uproars on how animals are slaughtered and subjected to cruelty has led to this belief. For instance, a video shot inside a slaughterhouse in China went viral around the world and resulted in people feeling guilty of their treatment of animals. Hence, people started believing that the only way to save animals from this toruture, is by not eating meat or fish. Despite agreeing with all these views, I am still of the opinion that non-vegetarian options must not be excluded from the diet completely. Certain vitamins and proteins are available only in meat and hence constitute a wholesome diet. For instance, Vitamin B12 is found only in meat. Vegetarians have found to be deficient of this vitamin, thereby causing bone diseases. Having meat and fish in minimal quantities is thus required for being healthy. Veganism is the new trend around the world. It is a undisputable fact that it will lead to a healthier lifestyle and a better world. However, the unique benefits of meat and fish cannot be completely ignored and hence must definitely constitute atleast a portion of one's diet.