Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no special knowledge of the following topic. Many childhood diseases can now be prevented through the use of vaccines. Should parents be made by law to immunise their children against common diseases or should individuals have the right to choose not to immunise their children?

Immunization has led to the prevention of many childhood diseases. While some people are of the view that individuals have the right to choose not to immunise their children, others believe that immunization must be mandated by law. This essay will argue that vaccinations are critical and hence must be made mandatory by law. A recent school of thought has evolved that vaccinations contain unknown contents and hence pose a threat to children and therefore parents can choose to not opt for the same. This thought stems from the fear of injecting foreign and dangerous substances into the body of a child. For instance, in one case in Nigeria, it was observed that a child fell critically ill post vaccination. Hence, more and more people are concluding that vaccination is not required for children. However, this thought is preposterous and such a rare occurence shoud not undermine the importance of immunization. Children are provided with a number of vaccines at a young age to help prevent contraction of common diseases. Furthermore, it acts as an immunity booster and prevents illness. For example, the polio vaccine given in India, has ensured complete eradication of this disease. Hence, immunization is critical for children and cannot be done away with. Since, some parents are opting out, it is best to mandate immunization by law to prevent onset of diseases and safeguarding of children. Levy of law will ensure that immunization is strictly followed by all parents. "Prevention is better than cure" is a famous proverb and a very apt conclusion for this essay. Immunization is the best way to prevent childhood dieseases and hence levy of law mandating the same, is the only way to ensure strict adherance.