Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society.

Higher education plays a pivotal role towards an individual's professional life. Many people are of the opinion that the role of university education is to merely facilitate a graduate's job hunting endeavours. Others believe that besides this, the beneficial ramifications a university can provide for its students are many. Firstly, it is obvious that the primal objective of any university is to award a successful candidate with a professional degree. Although a degree may not guarantee a job, it is, nevertheless necessary to have one, as employers would not want to hire an individual without the right kind of qualifications. Hence, if a university is able to increase job prospects of its graduates, people are naturally inclined to believe that this is the only task a university is supposed to fulfil. On the other hand, many believe that a degree is just one of the many advantages a university can offer. Such as professional character development; the importance of which moves in tandem with that of a mere degree. Of course, both are important, but without the former, a graduate may not be able to earn a place for himself in a professional setting. The main reason the supports this claim is that employers seek not only the right qualifications of a potential employee but also how well he or she can adapt to the work environment of that particular firm. Having analysed both views, it seems that besides helping the graduates to find better jobs, a university can do much more than that, such as instilling professional attitudes in the graduates that can facilitate not only their job prospects but also make them contribute towards the welfare of the overall society. It is expected that the developing universities give the aforementioned advantages equal weight to that of a merely helping to improve job prospects for graduates.