Some people believe that zoos are cruel and should be banned while others claim that they are beneficial for animals and society.

It is debatable issue among members of society whether zoos should be prohibited or remain open for public. In my view, zoos play invaluable role in preservation of wild life and contribute immensely towards human interaction with animals. On the one hand, there is a strong belief that zoos are quite harmful both for animals and humans. For instance, there are certain types of animals whose behavior tends to be more aggressive under the cage and kids who involuntarily find themselves in their vicinity may become victims of them. Moreover, negligent staff frequently overlook the violation of the rules by visitors who may throw some items on animals or poke them with a stick which would immediately trigger violent reaction of animal. Unfortunately, security measures are not taken seriously in majority of animal preservation centers, therefore, disastrous outcomes are common nowadays. On the other hand, care centers have tremendous benefits attributed to them. Firstly, since there are great number of endangered species, so those sites play paramount importance for their protection. Safeguarding wild life is as crucial as the preserving our nature, especially those under threat of extinction. Take gorillas for example, the number of those wonderful creatures has significantly plummeted in recent years. Good news is that after this phenomenon environmentalist from all over the world cooperated in erection of preservation camps for gorillas, where well-trained and equipped animal-lovers do their best in meeting their needs. On top of that, I side with those who support the idea that human-animal interaction leads to betterment of overall wellbeing for both sides. In conclusion, although people have opposing perspectives on this issue, I am convinced that contribution of zoos to both animals and society is out of question.