Is a Large University Better Than a Small College

Although a number of people may argue that a tiny college is superior to a large university, I agree with the statement that the latter can provide more desirable study environment than the former can. There are two reasons for this contention: a larger budget and distinguished professors. First, a large university tends to have more abundant budget than a tiny college. The existence of huge budget enables more capital investment. The availability of the latest facilities in such a huge budget university permit undergraduates to study more efficiently. In contrast, the absence of such a vast budget at a tiny college makes it difficult for scholars to do that kind of efficient study. One of my friends Bob's experience serves as convincing evidence for this benefit. He had gone to Kyoto University, one of the largest universities in Japan, where the huge budget enables to provide the latest library system which enables undergraduates to conduct thorough research. Assigned homework to write a research paper on the Unidentified Mysterious Animals by his professor, he found it possible to write a satisfactory one. This is attributable to the availability of research papers on the Unidentified Mysterious Animals which is rarely possessed in general library. Besides, the presence of the latest library system enables him to find out his necessary materials more efficiently. Second, It tends to gather a number of distinguished professors in a large university. The existence of distinguished professors help a scholar to learning higher knowledge. Of course, there are lots of well-known professors at Kyoto University which Bob had gone. In conclusion, a large university with a more huge budget and distinguished professor usually has more beneficial effects on undergraduates and their studies than a tiny college without them does. Therefore, I believe a large higher education institution is preferable to a tiny one.