Some people believe that young people who commit serious crimes should be punished in the same way as adults.

It is often thought that it is necessary to punish juvenile law breakers in the similar way as middle age people. While this thought of humankind is justifiable to some extent, I completely disagree with this opinion. Firstly, youth are not matured enough to understand this world like the adult one. They are still in their development phase mentally and physically. Furthermore, they are not capable of differentiating what is right and what is wrong for them. Due to this fact they tend to make incorrect decision and follow incorrect paths. For example, young people who commit serious crimes in Nepal are likely to be send in rehabilitation center rather than in prison. Therefore, they can realize their mistakes and learn some vocational training throughout the period. Secondly, we are now living in this advanced and consumer culture world. Adolescent get easily influenced by the things happening around him/her which might be correct or incorrect. Moreover, retroflexing somewhat terror or criminal scenes from film, internet, advertisement in their daily life lead them towards wrong way. They are completely unknown about what is happening with them because they have specific developmental needs. For instance, if they are sent in prison for their crime, they will be punished inside bars which would even worsen their behaviour and attitude which will result them being more cruel. To conclude, there is a huge difference in the developmental needs of an adult and youth, therefore, they shouldn't be punished in the same way as adult. Eventhough there are some positives of this approach, these can be easily neglected over its detrimental effects.