Some people believe that visual images (such as photos and videos) provide enough evidence that a crime was committed. Others think that they are not enough on their own and other evidence is needed.

Committing crime has been increasing in the modern world. It is often considered that photos and videos are the biggest proofs for confirming the happenings. While others are of the view that other evidences are also required for proving the wrongdoings. In my opinion, I support the latter thought as findings become concrete with more number of evidences. On the one side, images in itself are self-explanatory evidences which can solve the crime mysteries in just a fraction of a second. For instance, the purpose of installation of CCTV cameras at various public places is to use the footage as source of knowing the culprit in accident, robbery and murder cases. One can recognize the worngdoer by just looking at the visual aids. Thus, it saves the time and energy of police and investigators. On the other hand, not all cases can be solved by just having a glance at images. Sometimes mysterious crimes need thorough inquiries and video surveillance is not enough for proving that happenings. It has also found by the UK researchers that 48 percent of the pictures at the crime site are deceptive and take the officials away from the real mastermind criminals. In fact, the minor evidences such as DNAs and fingerprints are making their upperhand in many cases. Taking the example of recent happening of a house in New York where a murder mystery is solved by the laboratory testing of half eaten food in that house. In conclusion, undoubtedly, visual images are used as strong evidences in many illegal crimes. Nevertheless, some tricky cases require other minor evidences too for ascertaining the puzzle parts and knowing the complete picture.