Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Charitable activities are way of improving wellbeing of humankind and developing relationship between members of society. It is assume by many people that unpaid charitable activities should be included as an obligatory part of high school curriculum. I strongly agree with this idea considering the benefit that both students as well as society would gain. To begin with, volunteering in a charity program, helping poor and needy people would develop life skills such as compassion, kindness, empathy and self-discipline in youth towards society. Similarly, it will help teenagers to instill excellent interpersonal skills while doing social projects and interacting with other people. For instance, according to a survey conducted in Islamabad that those individuals who were involved in community projects while studying in their schools, are more active in assisting social events without any supervision. Moreover, teaching academic subjects or sports to poor children is another way of serving to the community. Although, it benefits the society by increasing the literacy rate, it will enhance the teaching skills, knowledge and patience among youth that consequently help them in the future. For example, I personally engaged in teaching the children of my high school’s low-level employees who could not afford high fees of schools. This developed good communication and teaching skills that later on helped me during demonstrator ship. In conclusion, I firmly believe that high schools should educate youth about the social and moral values by involving them in community activities apart from academic curriculum. It will not only beneficial for community, however, it will also worth in making an individual a better person of the society.