In many countries, mainly tourist, but not local people visit museum and historical sites. why does this happen? and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

\Nowadays, it is seem that many travelers prefer to visit heritage sites and historical museums more as compared to native people. The main reason behind this is that inhabitants take this places for granted, while tourist are more attracted towards ancient buildings. Therefore, government ought to take spread awareness regarding such sites among the local people. There are many concrete reason for why tourists are more attracted by this places. Firstly, they are very interested in knowing the vernacular culture and history of heritage places. For example, tourists especially visit the lake palace of Udaipur to know and understand the culture of Mughal dynasty. Secondly, a number of visitors witnesses such historical monuments for the purpose of research as some individuals are keen in acquiring knowledge about ancient statues. On the other hand, indigenous people are less attracted to their local historic sites. They believe that such buildings are in dilapidated condition and government are not undertaking the process of refurnishing. Moreover, a number of people don't prefer to visit such places due to exorbitant rates of entry tickets which are levied by the government. Undoubtedly, there are many steps which should be adopt by the government to attract local people. Several awareness campaign should be organize by the regime to develop interest in their own people. For example, organizing event at Surat castle on the occasion of World Heritage Day. Furthermore, schools should organize a field trips to heritage sites for the students, so that they can aware of such historical place. In conclusion, tourists are greatly attracted by the historical monuments and museums for acquiring knowledge. Whereas, this is not in the case of localities, nevertheless organizing awareness campaign would definitely create interest in them.