some people believe that universities should accept an equal number of men and women into all subjects?

There has been much discussion revolving around the issue of whether the universities should accept an equal number of men and women into all subjects. Personally, I completely disagree with the idea. There are two main reasons it could be argued that universities should not accept the same ratio of female and male. Firstly, the recruitment of education should base on student’s talent and also their academic result, instead of their gender. University acceptance ratio of men and women should not be set because it leads to unfair competition. For instance, if there is a female student who is perfectly fit the university course, it’s surely wrong to reject her in order to balance the percentage of gender. I think everyone should have the same opportunity, no matter what gender they are. Secondly, men and women may interested in different field. Therefore, it is unrealistic to have same proportion of men and women in all subjects. For example, nursing is more popular for women and engineering is traditionally male-dominated field. Students may lose their rights to choose the subject that they are interested in. To conclude, it is a wrong idea to keep the same number of male and female in each subject because universities should choose their candidates relevant to their abilities and intersects.