Some people believe that travelling within a city is better by car while some other think bicycle is a better means.

People hold different opinions about whether a car or a bicycle is the best form of transport in a city. I believe within the city a bicycle is best, but a car is better if someone must travel further. On the one hand, it is commonly thought that a car is the best option for transport in a city as it offers great comfort in terms of seating, air conditioning and other features. A further reason for people preferring cars is that they can easily transport a number of people at the same time and are especially safe for children. Cars are, moreover, time effective. being able to cover long distances in less time. On the other hand, bicycles are healthier options for getting around a city according to some. The majority of people lead a sedentary life style with little or no exercise which can cause serious health problems. This is often due to the lack of time available in their daily routine for exercise. By using a bicycle to travel, people will get the necessary physical activities without any inconvenience. A study showed that a daily 30 minutes bicycle ride can mitigate the risk of hypertension, diabetes and bad lipid disorders. In addition to it, riding a bicycle also contributes to improving the air pollution in the city and reducing the consumption of fast depleting fossil resources. Finally, in my opinion, bicycles are certainly an asset within a city where traffic jams are frequent. They can pass through congestion with minimal effort and offer health benefits. However, if a person lives in the suburbs, the most logical option would be a car for travelling longer distances into the city centre, particularly with more than one person to transport. In conclusion, both bicycles and cars offer advantages depending on whether one is travelling long or short distance. Although bicycles are an eco-friendly means of transportation, for families travelling together, a car will always be the better option.