Task 2: In many countries, people believe secondary schools should aim to provide a general education of a range of subjects. In other countries, students focus on subjects that will be useful for future careers.

People have different views concerning the curriculum of secondary students including many various subjects, whilst some argue that students should focus on the key subjects that can boost their career prospects. Both views will be discussed in this essay and I also give my own viewpoint. On the one hand, people think it is crucial for their children to study about a range of majors, it means that students should learn about both academic subjects such as mathematics and literature and optional subjects such as cooking and the science of food. Firstly, it is true that studying various subjects will improve the survival skills of pupils when they were young and help them to avoid unhealthy habits. For example, in many cases, they may not truly know about the nutrition in their daily meals, which tend to include many junk foods that can harm them gradually. Furthermore, students who are proficient with culinary skills or communication skills will be more capable of adjusting to living on their own. On the other hand, some others believe that only focusing diligently on the key subjects will create a great employment opportunity for their children. Because academic subjects such as math and literature can provide an individual with the foundation knowledge to smoothly transit into a professional working environment. Studying math, for instance, making pupils logical thinking when they solve math problems and studying literature makes them think deeper about an issue. Moreover, the expert knowledge will help pupils easier to apply in numerous companies with high income. In conclusion, both views have their own strong argument, however, I personally feel that students should learn about various majors to improve their personalities and general education will be continued taught in the secondary syllabus.