Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been much discussion revolving around making social service mandatory for High School students. A number of educators and policymakers propose that this move will exclusively benefit both students and society, while others argue that compulsory service is no service at all. This essay weighs the merits of this move over its demerits and sides with proposal as beneficial for all. Students learn a number of realities of life exclusivelywith grass-root level interactions, and this molds their thinking and prepares future leaders of the nation. When schools include community work as part of curriculum, youngsters acquire an exposure to civil life and learn to empathize with the needs of the less privileged sections of society, albeit several students may feel forced out of their comfort zones. Numerous surveys indicate that such students later take up social issues passionately and aim for Civil Service Exams to be a voice for the voiceless. Our society can do with a number of young leaders and politicians, community service will go a long way in propelling students in that direction. This proposal has detractors who feel mandatory social service will be a burden on students and lead to resentment. Furthermore, they point out to the diverse interests of students and giving them the freedom to pursue their fields of interest would be ideal for them. It is possible that a number of children may do it grudgingly with no real interest or service mindedness. This argument may be valid to a certain extent, however on further analysis, a different experience would speak otherwise. To summarize, the argument that making the youth involved in social work involuntarily may restrict the freedom of choice is valid to a certain extent; however, closer examination reveals that life changing lessons arelearned in such initiatives which can transform society.