Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well.

A plethora of people argue that youngsters’ responsibility to conduct communal work without being paid should be made mandatory, as not only can it bring about numerous benefits to the young participants themselves, but also the whole society can take advantage of this. I am a strong advocate of this notion, and will explain my view below. A compelling reason for teenagers doing public service without asking for wages is that they can accumulate numerous soft skills whilst doing the work, which is something they cannot acquire at school. A good illustration of this is my cousin. She is extremely industrious and academically-minded. In this reason, she lacks a considerable number of social skills like teamwork. However, after joining a summer voluntary campaign to help the local elderly with their everyday problems, she has become more self-confident and resourceful. Accordingly, a wide range of social skills will facilitate young people to seek for a rewarding job in the future. Moreover, young students can widen their circle of friends by joining social groups, decreasing the chances of suffering from mental disorders, such as depression or bipolar. On the other hand, regarding the societal benefits, teenagers’ voluntary works provide a timely, appropriate help to the needy in the community, which helps to alleviate or even eliminate chronic social problems. To illustrate, international volunteers in Africa have helped to change African’s mindset about marriage, thus declining the rate of child betrothal and teenage pregnancy significantly. Adolescents with such actions will likely to inspire others to follow the same actions. As a result, these voluntary teenagers can cultivate altruism and empathy in everyone around the world, which can partly pacify hatred and thus cease wars in the world. In conclusion, I favor the idea of comply students to do unpaid community service, in light of the fact that this can offer teenagers ample chance to hone their soft skills, and this meaningful and kind act can also benefit the underprivileged people with the proper help they need