Some people believe that teenagers are required to do community service in their free times without expecting a pay. On what extend do you agree or disagree.

Teenagers play a crucial role in the development of a generation. In the view of the fact that they tend to have a lot of free time compared to the other age groups, often, paves way as to how they should be using their leisure time. Community service is one of the activities that they are expected to participate in without expecting a pay. Let’s discuss the pros and cons of the given matter. To begin with, getting involved in community service even without a pay has a lot of merits. It often leads to the prosperity of the society, both morally as well as financially. For instance, several events, functions and gatherings might take place, which obviously will require manpower. If the concept of volunteering is brought in, then the issue of financial spending decreases abruptly. In addition, teens also develop a sense of responsibility towards the society such as empathy. Active participation of a large number of teens plunges the crime rate of youth. On the other hand, not getting paid despite investing a significant amount of time isn’t a nice option for today’s generation teens. The latter may find part-time jobs more feasible. For example, Teens nowadays are more inclined towards savings and future planning well in advance. If there is no scope of getting paid whatsoever in the community service, then a lot of potential “pay for work” lads’ loose interest. Also the free time they get won’t be used in socializing and strengthening relationships. Ultimately leading their personal networking at the nadir. Hence, from the above essay, it is quite evident that everyone expects something or the other in return. The times are changing and with it, the morals too. Not to forget the drastic acclivity in inflation. In my opinion, It is not okay to exploit our future generation by not paying them for the hard work they do.