Some people believe that teaching music in schools is a vital part of growing up and the human experience, whilst others believe that teaching music in schools is a waste of time and resources. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, there are people that think that music is not necessary for students, while others believe the opposite. In my opinion, music is something that will benefit students and will play a major role in their growing up process. To begin with, not teaching music in schools is something that might help students excell in other subjects since the time being consumed by music classes would be occupied by that subject. On the other hand though, music helps students express themselves in a unique way and by not having those classes not only do we take this chance away from them, but also we might miss the opportunity of discovering a really talented child in this field. Also, by not teaching them music we take away from them a form of relaxation that no other subject can offer. On the contrary, teaching them music will benefit them in many ways. First off, just the procedure of learning how to play music with an instrument, will help them be able to do better in other studies as well as, since learning music activates a lot of parts of the brain simultaneously and thus they can catch up on other studies faster. Besides this music will cultivate their personality in a way that no one else would ever do. It will help them think in a more free way, since music is all about letting yourself go and not thinking about what people have to say. In conclusion, music has a really fundamental role in students life and i personally believe that it is something that needs to be taught in schools.