Some people believe that teaching children at home is best for a child’s development while others think that it is important for children to go to school. Discuss the advantages of both methods and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Every country has its unique culture that defines the fabric of its society. It is debated that the country of origin has a major influence on a person's culture. I will discuss and provide evidence on both sides of the debate in this essay and justify my opinion that a person's culture is minimally influenced by their country of origin. Every county's tradition stems from its history. Most countries have religious and race wars in its past that has defined its society. Speaking about the world's largest democracy, India; it is a melting pot of different religions which comes with different beliefs and cultures. With 33 official languages and seven recognized religions, citizens of India share about a hundred festivals among each other. These customs and traditions have been ingrained in Indian society for the past 1000 years. One such value system that defines culture of an individual is identified in ancient scriptures. These scriptures have "respect your elders" engrained almost everywhere. Any child born in this society, typically, does not raise their voice against elders. While this has had both positive and negative impacts, acknowledging that a person's culture is defined by their country of origin is accurate in many ways. With advent of technology and globalization, information has been decentralized and distributed in the best possible way. This means people are exposed to other cultures and have even gone ahead to imbibe them. This action of adopting a culture that speaks to one self, refutes the claim that a person's country of origin has a major influence on their culture. To give an example, a close friend of mine who was born India, is drawn to the culture of United States. She likes the freedom here and as an atheist can live without judgement in the Unites States as compared to the oppressive environment she grew up in. In no way does she represent the narrow and conservative ideologies shared by her family. That's where her country of origin does not have any influence on her personal culture. In this day and age where social media has broken the boundaries of communication, I am of the opinion that every person cultivates their own culture and beliefs. Thus the country of origin might give you a know-how of a single culture but the exposure in one's daily life to global media will inculcate culture and beliefs of all countries. In conclusion, level of influence that one's country of origin has on a person's culture is debatable and you have see in the essay how both sides of the argument are equally valid. With that said, I'm of the belief that globalization and technology have made it very difficult for a person to be siloed by their own country's culture and that it has a very minor influence.