Some people believe that longer prison sentences are the best way to decrease crime while others believe that there are alternative ways to decrease crime. Discuss views and give your opinion.

In the modern world, decreasing crime level is becoming increasingly challenging among government and police. There is division among people as to whether it is better to impose lengthy jail sentences or apply other ways for bring criminal activities down. As well as offering my personal opinion, this essay will discuss both sides of the argument in detail and provide evidence as to way both of such options can be efficient to tackle this issue. More than ever before, the death penalty, imprisonment and especially life sentence are society's most powerful ways to deter criminality. Put simply, such kinds of punishments can preserve the individuals, and as a result، the society. To illustrate, it is immoral for the state its citizens are damaged by violent crimes such as murder, assault and robbery. Furthermore, a longer sentence may even reduce reoffending rates. In Canada, for example, evidence suggests that 32% would-be offenders have deterred felonies because of their fears of stiffer penalties and a doomed future. Overall, it seems that small fines for the special type of crime do not act as much of a deterrent. On the other hand, it is widely accepted that these people can be controlled to prevent crime by other alternatives. One solution way to fall violation is counselling. Many criminals suffer from drug addiction, mental health problems and other societal issues. While this is what leads them to commit crime in the first place, they can be counselled and treated in terms of physically and mentally. Secondly, the emphasis should be placed upon early education. Young people should be educated about the dengars of becoming a law breaker. For instance, they could be taken the prisons to meet with inmates who are serving life sentences. This would surly dissuade them from becoming criminal. In conclusion, this essay discussed the various reasons why people hold these points of view and whether longer staying in jail or other solutions stop people from carry out a crime. In my opinion, both elements of strict punishments and alternative solutions are vital to have a safer society.