Some people believe that it is the responsibility of the school to teach children good manners. While, others believe that it should be the responsibility of the parents.

Developing moral values in children is often considered the most challenging task for parents and teachers alike. It is often argued by some that tutors should bear this responsibility, as they tend to have higher influence on children. Meanwhile, others argue that parents should take up this challenge, as they tend to spend more time with the children. This essay will explore both sides of the argument before reaching a logical opinion. On the one hand, the supporters of the view that teachers should teach children ethical norms believe that teachers have a greater influence on students. As children from younger age are trained to follow their teachers. Take an example of Florida, United States, where Institute of Behavioral Studies related to children with mental disability revealed that teachers can induce calm behavior in children. Thus, teachers have a very important part to play in the development of a child’s personality. While on the other hand, the advocates of the point of view that parents should bear this responsibility believe that parent tend to spend far more time with their children. As parents on average spend 10 to 12 hours with the children. For instance, in Middle Eastern culture parents are considered sole responsible for developing a child’s personality. Hence, parents have an important role to play in the development of a child’s personality. However, I believe that both, parents and teachers contribute equally towards developing important life values in children. As teachers can utilize their influence and parents can use their time effectively. To sum-up, parents can effectively utilize their time spent with the children and teachers can utilize their influence, but from my perspective parents and teacher should coordinate and share this responsibility.