Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

Some people are of the opinion that sharing the maximum information possible with others is good, while the others differ and concur that the information in these fields is of utmost significance and is priceless, and should not be shared as freely. It is a known fact that information is knowledge. If the information is not passed on to the others in the fields of scientific research, business and academics, then there can be no potential growth in these fields, thereby bringing the development of mankind to a complete halt. For instance, if the discovery of wheel was kept a secret, there would be no automobile industry today. The progress that we have experienced in all these years could only be imagined as a far-fetched dream. Since the information about the wheel was transferred from one field to another the world has reached its present summit. Although, sharing information is good for the humankind, protecting valuable data from falling into the hands of notorious people is mandatory. The misuse of valuable information may lead to undesirable consequences. Therefore, use of copyrights and getting a patent or keeping the information as classified are some of the ways in which the data can be protected. The Governments’ secret agencies are recruited for this purpose only as is evident from the various scientific articles suggest. A controversial research published in recent times says that the regenerative procedures involving stem cells, in the field of medicine are being constantly discouraged to prevent sharing of the valuable information. In conclusion, information sharing should be judicious. People involved in the various fields mentioned above should have access to the data that would help the mankind. Also, the information that needs to be classified should be protected by all means.