Define the term ‘globalisation’ and explain the pros and cons of the effects of globalisation.

In the past fifty years, as the world’s economies have entered the new age of information technology, communication has become faster and easier than ever before. Telephones, televisions and computers have made communication and the media instant and far-reaching. ‘Globalisation’ refers to the breakdown of barriers and borders in communication; through the media, the world’s cultures communicate and influence each other more than they ever have before, and this influence presents both positives and negatives. Firstly, the pros of globalisation are many. Through the Internet, it is easy to access information, communicate with other people, and learn about any topic. Television presents the culture, discoveries, and entertainment of foreign countries. Transportation is easy and quick, so people can travel widely, not only spreading aspects of their own culture, but also adopting aspects of their hosts’ culture. These technologies help people to become more tolerant, and break down cultural barriers that existed only a decade ago. However, there are also negative effects of globalisation. As a result of globalisation, the world’s cultures are becoming less diverse; people are adopting the customs of countries with strong economies. Young people are attracted to the media’s influence and are less likely to carry on the traditions and languages of their native lands. English has become the international language because it is the language of the Internet and e-commerce, but this adoption of an international language is leading to the potential loss of many local languages. To sum up, globalisation, or the melding of the world’s cultures through information and communication technology, has both pros and cons.