Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

With the dawn of modern era, where there are vast array of research and advancements taking place in scientific, business and academic world, sharing few ideas is always a topic of discussion. In this essay we will discuss why some people think it is important to share as much information as possible as well as why few believe that one should not disclose any confidential information or research. In today’s era, by keenly observing current scenarios some pupil easily come to a decision that sharing relevant information and research is very crucial for advancement. They argue that by sharing information from variety of sources and clubbing them can really help for overall progress of numerous countries especially poor or underdeveloped countries like Syria, Pakistan and many more. For example, such portmanteau of ideas really helped Armenia which was once a victim of constant terrorist attacks is now looked upon as a leader in the field of IT industry. Therefore, by listening this side of argument it clearly depicts that creating an open environment for ideas is necessary. Other side of this argument is that few people think that sharing a plethora information is not useful in long run for businesses or countries. Reason being that sharing numerous information can make a firm or a country vulnerable to cyber attacks or in worse case scenarios a terrorist attack as well. For instance, a leading architectural firm decided to share architectural design of parliament they designed and this created havoc as parliament was open to attacks as well as termination of contact of architectural firm. Thus, such sharing of confidential information can harm security of a country as well as business loss. In today’s day and age sharing ideas is very crucial but it can also be a risky task as argued by people of both sides. In my opinion, I do not agree that hiding information is solution to protect confidentiality but sharing helpful research and information will always be crucial for overall development.