Some people believe that it is a waste of time to read read newspapers and watch news on televison.

Attempting to balance between being knowledgeable by newsmedia and not seemingly overwhelmed and doubtful by it can be burdensome especially during a global crisis. The reasons behind this are the constant exposure of people to sensational or disastrous reporting and the declining credibility of some journalists these days. Likewise, some people adhere to the view that reading newspaper and watching television news is unnecessary. With this in mind, I completely affirm such a notion because of the news contents' enormous negativity and lack of reliability. To begin with, the daily news consumption across multiple media platforms produces a detrimental impact on one's thoughts, behaviour and emotions. For instance, the constant stream of news about CoVID-19 that people nowadays are exposed to regularly can contribute to a person's worsening mental health conditions. Such nerve-racking circumstance involves changes in sleeping and eating patterns, fear and worry about personal health and the health of loved ones and concentration difficulties. Evidently, with consistent exposure to such news, whether actively or passively, someone is more likely to discover his worries difficult to manage and more distressful than it would normally be. Furthermore, over the last twenty years, the public has grown increasingly incredulous of the news industry. In the first place, there is a powerful correlation between trust and how much people interact with news. The most valued factors related to this trust include accuracy, timeliness and clarity. To illustrate, consumers are more likely to give credence to media which get the facts right, are up-to-date with the most recent news and information, are concise and get to the point. This means that to enable information trustworthiness, content quality and information provenance should be primarily considered. Hence, provenance may aid in assessing the quality of a story, so as to determine the degree of trust that should be ascribed to it. In conclusion, frequent broadcasting of tremendous unpleasant reports and declining dependability to journalism can make reading the newspaper and watching television news preposterous. Therefore, I believe that journalists must contemplate differently about content, formats and platforms to develop a generation with various foundations and expectations more engaged in the news.