Some people believe that if a police officer carries guns, it can encourage a higher level of violence.

It is commonly considered by many people that police officers should not be equipped with guns as it leads to violence in the society. This essay completely disagrees with this idea and would discuss it in detail, before reaching at the conclusion. To begin with, armed officers actually help in maintaining peace in the society by frightening criminals from the fear of their weapons. In other words, offenders are less likely to commit serious crimes when they are aware that the corps are equipped with dangerous weapons and can shoot them anytime in crime scene. This would not only encourage criminals to watch their actions closely but would also give them a chance to reconsider all the consequences before committing any crime. To exemplify, according to the recent survey conducted by the investigation department of California, 80% of people agreed that there has been reduction in crime rate since police officers has started patrolling on the roads with heavy loaded weapons. They also confirmed that now they can roam freely anywhere in the city at anytime. Additionally, corps are provided with high level of training regarding the usage of weapons, so it is very less likely for them to hurt common people. That is to say, police officers are provided with very tough training before they even start working officially at a public place. Therefore, their chances of accidentally shooting ordinary people are very less. However, in case if such situation happened, it would only be to protect the general public or for their own safety. To conclude, although some people consider that carrying guns by police officers in general public would lead to violence in the society. However, I believe, that having armed officers at the duty all the time, would make world a better place to live as all its citizens would feel safe and protected.