QUESTION: Many working people get little or no exercise either during the working day or in their free time, and have health problems as a result. Why do many working people not get enough exercise? What can be done about this problem?

Exercise is good for the body and it makes people healthy. Most workers do not get enough exercise both when they are at work or at home which makes them develop health issues. I believe most people do not get good exercise because of stress from excess workload and the solution to this is reduction of workload. More and more workers spend most of their time doing office work either at work or home. This is because there are no good number of staff in many organisations which makes the staff work double or triple of what they are expected to do. For example, during the pandemic a researcher carried out a research in three companies in Lagos State, Nigeria and came to a conclusion that 93% of workers are undergoing stress because the organisations reduced their staff and increased their workers job description. Excess workload is making most workers little or no time for themselves. Organisations are expected to reduce the workload of their staff. This is because having lesser work to do makes workers duty effective as they will be able to concentrate on what they are expected to do and will meet their daily target. For instance, during the lockdown last year, my company reduced the staff in my department and we were obligated to carry out more duties, but most time we were coming down with one illness or the other. My supervisor then spoke to the management to employ one more staff since the work was obviously too much for us. Thereafter, a new staff was employed and there was no record of illness. Reduced workload benefits both the staff and the company. In conclusion, workers should have a limit of what they do at work so they can create time for themselves to exercise and be in good health.