QUESTION: In some areas of US, a curfew is imposed in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult. What is your opinion about this?

Curfew is mostly for the security of the citizens. Adolescents are now expected not to walk alone in some areas in United States of America. I think this is a good decision to prevent rape cases and robbery attack. Firstly, record of rape cases is on the increase. This is because some bad boys attack both teenage boys and girls when they are walking alone on the road at night after spending time studying and doing their assignments at school. For instance, two weeks before the restriction of movements for teenagers, my uncle's neighbour in New York city, United States was on his way back from work when he found two boys raping a girl on the road side he parked his car and the boys ran out of sight immediately they saw him. He took the girl to the hospital, she was treated, and some tests were done. If the girl was with an adult or not out alone at that time, she would not have been raped. It is right to say having adults around adolescents will prevent any form of hurt. Furthermore, teenagers experience robbery attack when they are alone at night more. This is because they are seen as individuals not been able to defend themselves, and will also not be able to call for help. For instance, a study carried out by Mr Patrick Bill in Chrisland school concerning cases of robbery attack of teenage children at night revealed that 90% of teens have been attacked when they were walking alone at night and the attackers left with things like phones, laptops, wallets and wrist watches. The study revealed the experience the teenage aged got is a bad one as they find it difficult move on with life. In avoidance of robbery attack experience in teens, it is necessary to impose a curfew at night so that teenagers will not be found alone. In conclusion, restriction of movements by the authorities in a state or country is for the security of the citizens. I believe that adolescents being restricted from walking late at night is for their safety.