Some people believe that if a police force carries a gun, it will encourage higher levels of violence in the whole society.

Some people claim that the levels of violence in our society will soar if there are armed police forces. I strongly disagree with this statement. In my opinion, the guns in policemen's hands can deter crime and protect residents, contributing to shaping a peaceful atmosphere in the whole society. The use of lethal weapon is the main factor of anticrime. Cops equipped with firearms are the biggest threat for potential criminals, which can significantly curb violence. For example, most latent wrongdoers will think twice prior to committing any crime if they bump into a patrol officer carried pistols, thus reducing the likelihood of subsequent violence. By contract, the failure to carry any gun may deprive law enforcement of deterrent, making violent crimes more unscrupulous. Therefore, an armed police force can frighten potential criminals, resulting in a decline in violence in the whole society. Carrying guns can facilitate achieving the duties of the police to guard law-abiding citizens. It would be unrealistic to expect a world without crimes given the realities of human nature, and gun-related crimes are still pervasive in areas rife with poverty. As a result, arming the police can reassure locals that they are safe. For example, most inhabitants in the gutters remain constantly vigilant for muggings and robberies and there is a high likelihood that in their lifetime they will come into contact with criminal elements. In this circumstance, people can feel safer only when they see policemen with guns especially if they perceive these armed forces as a response to a heightened risk. In conclusion, in terns of deterrent to criminals and protection for citizens, arming the police will discourage violence.