Some people believe that having sport in schools is a waste of time and resources, whilst other people believe that sport in schools is a vital part of education.

How to educate children appropriately has long been a controversial issue. There is a school of thought that teaching sports in educational institutions is a waste of time and resources; however, others believe that physical activities play a crucial part of an education program. I believe that a successful education cannot go without physical training. On the one hand, it is argued that physical education should not be taught in school for several reasons. Admittedly, pupils have been increasingly becoming busy due to the heavy burden of study. Children are cramped with a lot of knowledge in a variety of subjects in order that they could be entitled enough to further their tertiary education. For example, apart from compulsory curriculum at schools, Vietnamese students tend to pick up a number of extra classes or tutorial lessons. Therefore, sports classes are considered time-consuming. Additionally, practicing physical activities at educational institutions means students can only choose the sports included in a fixed program. Thus, they can be indifferent to playing a sport that is not their favorite one, hence ineffective. On the other hand, there is a notion that sports play an irreplaceable role in a child's growth. First, it is undeniable that playing sports is the greatest way to support children's biological growth. It is a fact that those who did not take exercise regularly as children tend to grow up with health problems such as obesity or short stature. What is more, taking part in physical activities is a good way to develop interpersonal skills such as teamwork and communication skills, which are essential for children in later life. For example, by playing football, strikers can learn how to assist and connect with their fellow teammates. For these reasons, I strongly believe that sports classes are beneficial for students in both physical and mental aspects. In conclusion, although there are some reasons why people believe that physical education is not necessary, I side with the view that physical training is one of the key factors of well-rounded education.