Some People Believe That Doing Sport at School Is a Distraction from More Important Work

A lot of people argue that there is a number of more important subjects than PE in the school curriculum. I would not say that I completely disagree with this statement, but I do not agree with it either. Personally, I think that going in for sports has its own advantages as well as some disadvantages. In my opinion, going in for sports at school isn't a distraction from more important classes because, as I see it, there are not „more“ and „less important“ studies. On the contrary, doing sports makes the body fit and educational institutions should pursue students to lead healthier life. On top of that, not everyone wants to be an astrophysicist or a historian. Plentiful of students wish to perhaps be professional soccer players or competent dancers so, from my point of view, it would not be a bad idea for schools to help those kind of students pursue their dreams of becoming paid-off athletes. Undoubtedly, they would still have to attend other required syllabuses and subjects and try to do their best in them. So, in order to approach this „problem“, I suggest that sports should be put to the timetable after other regular classes and mayhaps starting some before or after-school sport clubs would not be a bad idea either. To wrap it all up, physical activities as part of the school program play an unquestionably important role in students’ schooling and preparing for their potential careers in the future.