Some people believe that criticizing others on social media represents freedom of expression. Others think otherwise, claiming that it is an act of insensitivity and ill-will.

Many social platforms today are enabling its users to interact freely with each other which leads to an unwanted misuse: online criticism. People hold conflicting views upon this matter, one view is that online criticism explains for our freedom of expression, the other is that it is a lack of sensitivity. In this essay, I aim to discuss both these views and give my perspective. On the one hand, it goes without saying that online criticism gives evidence for our right of expression. It is totally easy to come across a debated topic on popular sites like Twitter or Facebook where people give their personal opinions regarding celebrities or those who act against the norm, they feel free to comment what they like and there is no regulation that controls over its. Without a doubt, constructive criticism should be encouraged as it helps people realize their faults and find way to improve themselves, but in reality, most comments on a specific threat are toxic and only triggering hatred which ends up putting the matter unsolved and also create many metal problems for the one involved like anxiety or even suicides. On the other hand, it is also believed that criticism through the Internet only results from insensitivity and ill-will. Recently, a growing number of users just makes plainly rude comments in response to a given matter which makes them appear immature and uneducated, this tendency will not only affect those having bad intentions but also making the Internet an infamous means of communication. It should be ideal if the handlers of the Internet find solutions to this problem so that it makes all users more satisfied and happy. To sum up, people’ s perspectives vary in the discussion of online criticism, nevertheless, I choose to be neutral with my opinion as constructive criticism is what should be encouraged, comments should be logical and acceptable, rather than too harsh or too easy.