Some people believe that computers are more a hindrance than a help in today's world. Others feel that they are such indispensable tools that they would not be able to live or work without them. • In what ways are computers a hindrance? • What is your opinion?

Ever since the rise of technology, there has been a long disputation about the impacts that computers might have on the daily life. Many think that these innovations are essential for life and work, whereas others argue that they are more of an obstacle than an aid. In this essay, I’m going to enumerate the reasons why computers can be considered a hindrance. Firstly, in this modern world, computers are now becoming more and more a necessity for school and jobs, especially during this pandemic where everyone switched to e-learning and working. However, a minor part of the society is finding it tough to afford a laptop. An up to date, fast laptop, for instance, cost no less than a thousand dollars which can be challenging for the destitute people that prefer to keep their money to satisfy other important needs. On the other hand, spending too much time in front of the desktop have detrimental effects on the health. Scientists have directly attributed the slow brain activity to the hours spent in front the computer. Computer addicts showed a decrease in blood circulation which affects the brain’s function thus their production. In addition, they were able to reveal a correlation between poor eyesight and prolonged computer use, known as “digital eye strain” or “Computer vision syndrome”. As a consequence, people suffer from bad eye vision accompanied with headache and dizziness. To sum up, technology has plethora of merits however we can’t deny its drawbacks. While it is true that computers eased our life, it is nevertheless perilous. It is risky, in my opinion, to be this dependent on them.