Some people believe that companies should manufacture products that last for a long time. Others feel that the emphasis should be placed on producing goods that are cheap.

A number of people opine that manufacturing firms should produce long-lasting goods. While others believe that they should give importance to cheaper commodities so they can be afforded by everyone. In this essay, I am going to examine this question from both points of view and then explain why I feel durable products are the better choice. Firstly, many argue that the benefits of high-quality long-lasting products considerably outweigh their disadvantages. The main reason for believing this is that reliable long-lasting products can be used for a longer period and consumers can gain the return of investment from the long period of usage. Moreover, it is also possible to say that the maintenance requirement also less for quality goods. For instance, in our country, numerous people buy wooden furniture instead of plywood or processed wood furniture because of its longevity. On the other hand, others believe that economical products are much better because everyone can afford them. There is a big percentage of people living in poverty and they cannot afford costly goods. So, if the product costs are affordable then everyone can buy their necessary goods without hesitation. For example, China is producing electronic goods as such smartphones and computers at a very lower price so that people all over the world can have them and take the advantage of technology. In conclusion, both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I believe that long-lasting products have an upper edge comparing to cheap products. This is because durable goods can use for a long period without additional maintenance cost.