Some people think watching TV and films makes children more creative. Others think that it can actually lower their creativity.

A number of people opine that watching television programs and movies can enhance youngster’s intellectual development while others believe that it decreases their imaginative power. In this essay, I am going to examine both concepts and give justification why balance is needed. On the one hand, watching the right kinds of shows increases children’s knowledge and so they do better in academics. Moreover, they can learn about different cultures and lifestyles of the world through multimedia programs. For instance, according to a research in Bangladesh, kids who spent a few hours a week watching educational programs such as Sisimpur and Meena Cartoon had higher academic results as well as they had better knowledge about social norms compare to others who didn’t watch. On the other hand, watching too much TV and films impacts their health negatively. It reduces their physical activity and social development as they do not get enough time to play or socialize. In addition, if the content they watch is not monitored, they may watch shows full of violence and vulgarity, which can influence them to make crimes. For example, a recent study published in The Daily Star that youngsters are addicted to TV and video games these days which affects their concentration in study and they suffer several health issues such as headaches and eyesight damage. In conclusion, both points have their merits. However, I believe, the effects of viewing TV shows and movies depend on program content, and parents should teach their children about choosing the right program to watch.