Some people believe that children should be allowed to choose what subjects they study at school. Others argue that everyone should study the same subjects.

The argument about what subjects school children can study has both sides. Some opiate that there should be a choice while others argue that there should not be. In my opinion, the choice of what courses to major in can be chosen at a certain level. People have the view that all classes should be taken by students with their reasons being that none is irrelevant. They argue that all have relevance in grooming the children, irrespective, of the career path to be chosen. However, I only agree with this point on the basis that this is only important in the early days of a child's educational life. For example, it is of the essence that mathematics is taught as it is a needed requisite in our daily life. On the other hand, some say ''No, this should not be the case''. That there should be freedom and flexibility to what is being taught. They make this debate with their points anchored that everyone have the liberty to decide on what they would like to be in the future. As such, what should be learnt should be tailored to individual preferences. Admittedly, this is right, nevertheless, this decision should only be made when a senior class is attained prior to college. The selected majors are based according to the intended profession in order to acquire the underlining knowledge required. For instance, in Nigeria, on the attainment of senior secondary class 2, the student is allowed to pick from the range of schoolwork he or she has been exposed to according to what suits them best. In conclusion, the selection of what should be learnt can only come after being taught a range of subjects. Therefore, I reiterate my points that all that is taught in the education curriculum is important, nonetheless, a child can be selective when a senior class in high school is attained depending on the professional desire.