Some people believe that automation can help positively transform the economy. Others think otherwise, claiming that it may imply serious economic consequences. Dicuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, automation has greatly developed in recent years. In the 21th century, it has had a tremendous influence on many aspects of our lives, especially in terms of economy. So from my perspective, although automation has some drawbacks, I strongly agree that it has greatly changed the economy in a positive way. On the one hand, there are some disadvantages that automation brings about. First of all, some certain automatic devices will cost more money than employing people to do manually, which can be a difficulty for many companies. Businesses have to invest the initial costs that are relatively high. Furthermore, these machines need to be maintained, which means that companies need another investment to pay for maintenance costs. And although automation can replace people in some certain works, some tasks cannot be easily automated. There is still something that needs the professional skills of human. To sum up, it is clear that automation requires a heavy investment, which can be a cost burden for the economy to develop. Nevertheless, despite of this, there are a host of significant benefits that automation brings about. First of all, automation can replace people in some works that require hard physical, repetitive work or even tasks performed in dangerous environments such as those with high temperature, toxic chemicals or atmospheres. Secondly, production is often faster and more effective. If a company invests in automation, it can save the business money and create jobs for people who assemble, design, and maintain the automated machines. Therefore, companies can have more money and they can hire more skillful employees or develop new branches. This will create an economic development for that country. Automation will not only create new types of jobs and increase the proceeds in the economy, it will also pave the way for even more advanced technology in the future. For example, we can see that countries such as the economy of Japan, England of Germany has dramatically developed in the 20th century, thanks to automation in producing cars, weapons or other goods to export. Hence, the standard of living in these countries has greatly improved and they become one of the most prosperous countries in the world. In conclusion, although there are some drawbacks, it is clear that the positive influences of automation outweigh the negative one. Thus, from my perspective, I would agree that the advantages of automation are numerous.