Some people believe that allowing children to make their own decisions on daily matters such as food, clothing and entertainment is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Others believe that it is important for children to make decisions about things that affect them. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

Some individuals argue that encouraging children to decide daily issues such as feeding, clothing and fun independently could lead to a world of selfish individuals whereas others claim that children should be allowed to choose their personal wishes. In my opinion, the age of a child should be considered before empowering them or discouraging them from making daily choices. On the one hand, children who make personal choices could become self-centered. What this means is that when a child learns early to choose between a variety of meals, attires and relaxation activities, they might seek only their own interest and neglect the feelings of others. For example, an eleven-year-old boy who is allowed to eat a double ration of food than he normally should have would be reducing the food quantity of other people in his home. On the other hand, children who make decisions concerning daily activities learn independence. This therefore implies that a young child who is granted permission to accept or refuse specific meals, outfits and fun engagements will develop the ability to think on their own. To illustrate this, teenagers whose parents support them in terms of personal shipping and leisure are known to make sounds decisions which are applaudable. In my opinion, the age of children affects their decision making. Younger children should be guided by adults or their parents while teenagers can be permitted to choose whatever they want. For instance, babies need their parents to choose their food but teenagers do not necessarily need to be told that excess sugar or fat is harmful. In conclusion, although certain individuals defend independent decision making for children and some other persons claim that this could lead to self-centeredness, I firmly believe that children's age should not be overlooked in such matters.