Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

People have different views about children's independence. While someone believes there should be certain control over younger generation's choices others feel preservation of autonomy is better for children. I completely agree with the second statement, but in this essay I will discuss both opinions. One main argument supporting the idea of limited freedom is that children tend to follow their wishes and not think about all the consequences of their decisions thoroughly. Take eating habits as an example. Any child would prefer a tasty hamburger or an ice-cream cone to nutritious balanced meals, even though they are more wholesome. The results of this choice can often present a direct threat to children's health and well-being because fast food in excessive amount is a direct way to obesity and heart diseases. On the other hand, there are reasons which prove that parents' control over their child's minor daily decisions is not compulsory. Personal experience is considered to be the best teacher. In other words, letting children make own choices and mistakes allows them to become more cautious and aware of the results of their actions. Additionally, all children have to grow up and become independent sooner or later. Therefore, when a child suffers from lack of freedom, he or she is deprived of an important part of any growth process. For instance, there are thousands of adults who still rely on parental decisions when choosing a job or a partner. In conclusion, although control over child's choices may be beneficial I believe that all children should be able to decide for themselves.