In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this a positive or negative situation?

It is true that in some parts of the world, buying a home is given more importance by the public than living in a rented one. It is due to a sense of stability that renting will not bring, and in my opinion, this idea is (can be taken as) a positive approach. There are several reasons why ownership of a home becomes a rising trend among people. The most obvious explanation for this trend is a great sense of tranquility that comes with it. Because when people have their own house, they are not under pressure of monthly rental fee. Additionally, owner of a place does not have to struggle with their landlord about a lease contract. For example, if the landlord refuses to prolong the contract or terminates it ahead of schedule, tenants find themselves in situation of homeless for a while. Finally, tenants who fall behind with the rent risk being evicted. Therefore, possessing an accommodation could provide safe and security for family members. On the other hand, having a dwelling for your own can be considered as a positive attitude to tackle increasing inflation that many countries are dealing with. At first sight, purchasing a home seems to come at a huge cost, but the value of an accommodation will definitely increase which could provide owners with considerable profit. Furthermore, having a home gives residents too much freedom to make any modification and they are not restricted by strict rules made by landlords. For example, residents are able to landscape the garden or refurbish the bedrooms according to their desire. In conclusion, people’s desire of possessing a home derives from security concerns and I believe that this idea could be a great investment for the future.