Some people believe that all children should learn a foreign language from the time they start school, while others believe it is better to wait until a child is at secondary school.

Some people believe that all children should learn a foreign language from the time they start school, while others believe it is better to wait until a child is at secondary school. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Studying foreign languages has become an essential part of human development nowadays. Almost everyone knows at least one foreign language at a certain level. So the question arouses - what is the perfect time to start acquiring language skills? Some parents want their kids to study languages at a very young age - the earlier the better. However, others believe that it is better to wait until secondary school. A great number of kids at the age of 6-7 are entering language schools or taking extra foreing language classes. Their parents are convinced that this early integration into the language environment will develop children’s cognitive abilities in general, as learning a new language makes our brain work in a different, unordinary way. Moreover, it has been proven that a child's brain at the young age absorbs information better, consequently, properly prepared and involving lessons with right methodics would give an immense progress and benefit to young students. Finally, starting to develop language skills from elementary school will give a huge advantage to children over those, who started later. The opposite side claims that children at elementary school are rather neglectful and thus, cannot take language classes seriously. Secondary school students, on the contrary, are more attentive and can understand the rules of language better. Self-discipline and power of will, which 11-16 years students develop in themselves, is also a key factor to success in learning a foreign language. They have a better understanding of why they need to study this language and what profit they would get. Nevertheless, not all students are willing to study languages, at the age of secondary school children they might have their own interest in subjects and if language is not included there, the process of learning would be tough and complicated for them. In my opinion, it is better to start learning languages from the 1st grade of school and it is advisable to take extra classes, not being limited with school lessons. My reason for that is children have more time to learn as much information as possible, practice and improve it. I also believe children would develop their love for languages during the years of studying, as I did. Concluding my essay I would say that there’s no perfect time for learning languages, what is important is the will and desire to learn.