Recently, learning a foreign language is becoming more and more common in our lives.

Recently, learning a foreign language is becoming more and more common in our lives. Although some children begin to learn a new language from an early age, there is a fair quantity who claim that it is better for children to learn a foreign language at secondary school. Doubtlessly, both of the statements might be true. However, I support the first premise. To begin with, primary school students are usually very curious about the world around them. They always want to learn new things and are extremely enthusiastic. Thus, learning a foreign language might be easy and at the same time, engaging for them. For instance, young children find it interesting to name objects, touch and explore the things in their own world, imitating as well as defining words. Learning a new vocabulary, pronouncing, practicing a new language might in fact be effective for them, if to select an entertaining, age-appropriate method of teaching. For instance, such games as “Simon says” and Total-physical response approach can make the learning process easier and impactful. Different from primary school students, secondary school students, who have more formulated concept of the world are good at logics, working in pairs and groups. However, it might be difficult for them to learn a foreign language, as they are getting older and it can be challenging for teachers to grab learners’ attention to study. Secondary school students are hardly engaged in learning. To sum up, in my opinion it is better to learn a foreign language at an early age, as young children are always interested in learning and it is easy to work with such students.