Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages

Studying English at learning centers is considered vital than studying regional languages. Further by doing so, there is a potential threat of extinction to the regional languages. In my opinion, I agree that English being a global language, must be engouraged and learnt in school. Although, I also believe, regional languages must be prioritized and not be neglected. In today's world, the language of trade and economy is considered to be English. This language has been widely used as a common mode of communication as well as translation between various countries. Hence, the emphasis on learning this language is crucial and of prime importance. For example, several national and international business deals are conducted in English and one is required to acquire the proper knowledge and skill sets of this language. It is evident that the world demands English as a primary mode of communication and we must learn this language at school. Though there is a clear motive to learn English, we must always give prominence to our culture and the language spoken locally. A regional language indicates the roots, culture and tradition of the speaker. Moreover, studies indicate that people speaking and learning regional languages have higher fluency and grasp over languages than those who don't. Hence, all schools and learning centers must amend teaching regional languages as their first-language and make it a compulsion among the students. In conclusion, one must be flexible to the challenges and changes the world gives us. We must not only keep up with the needs and requirement of the world, but also carry along the culture and native languages we grew up with.