Some people believe that all children should have a pet or an animal to look after Other people disagree however saying that this depends on a child s circumstances Consider these opposing views and give your own opinion

Nowadays, the subject of whether it is an absolute necessity for children to possess a domestic animal or not is highly contentious in a way that has provoked heated arguments among its opponents and proponents. Nevertheless, there are rational justifications on both sides of this topical debate which will be discussed in details, followed by a concluding view on the matter. On the one hand, the supporters of pet ownership point out that those children who are taking care of pets are more likely to take in some valuable skills, including patience and responsibility which are incredibly beneficial for their future. For instance, training a pet can be a lesson in patience since they will not act as children’s wish all the time, or even feeding and bathing them regularly can foster children’s sense of responsibility. Moreover, it is often stated that pets help kids to lead an active and healthy lifestyle, particularly in today’s technologically-focused world that children show a greater tendency to watch television or play video games for hours. On the other hand, those who are opposed to this mindset highlight the huge financial burden accrued from owing a pet. In other words, maintaining pets imposes enormous expenses on families which range from veterinary costs to their foods; consequently, not many families are able to bear such expenditures. Additionally, the time involved in looking after them is worth taking into account. That is to say, a massive amount of time is required for nurturing them, and it is blatantly obvious they are parents who need to take most of the heat; therefore, if parents are suffering from adequate time, they fail to live up to this responsibility. To conclude, it would appear that children can benefit considerably form keeping a pet, from mastering some absolutely essential skills to avoiding a sedentary life, provided that their families can meet the cost of health care and medical care of pets as well as the time entailed protecting them.