Some people argue that technological inventions, such as mobile phones, are making people socially less interactive.

In this era of technology, the emergence of modern inventions, especially smartphones, has long been causing heated public controversy. People argue that these devices are driving people away from each other and preventing them from communicating properly, and I partly agree with this statement. To begin with, the development of technology has negatively affected the interaction between people by luring them into using the Internet all the time. In other words, due to the advent of the social media revolution, people spend a considerable amount of time surfing social media and playing games without paying much attention to their family and friends. As a result, the time spent on talking and sharing decreases, thus weakening the bond among family members and friends. For instance, these days, it is common to walk in a coffee shop and see people, despite sitting at the same table, not talking to each other and having their eyes on their phones instead. Besides, the adverse effects of smartphones also possess unfavorable impacts on other aspects of communication. To specify, the lack of face-to-face contact can lead to inadequate social manners such as tact, politeness, and listening skills, especially for young generations. Also, electronic chatting does not allow for non-verbal communication, meaning that factors such as body language and facial expression cannot be used to emphasise a message, thus often lead to misinterpretation. However, people argue that technological innovations allow people to interact despite all geographical distances. That is to say, with new applications, people can see and speak to their family despite the far distance between them. Also, people, especially international students and workers, can share their lives and feelings on social media as a way to maintain contact with their family and friends. Still, it is obvious that not so many people know how to balance the time spent on the virtual and the real world, thus often overusing the Internet and neglecting their beloved ones. In the light of all evidence, although technologies such as mobile phones possess multiple advantages on communication, their adverse effects seem to outweigh their benefits. In other words, instead of connecting people, they broaden the gap between people and gives rise to a profound lack of social manners such as politeness, listening skills, gestures, and body language.