Some people argue that in the future, teachers will be displaced by the growth of computers. How far

There have been immense advances in technology in most aspects of people’s lives, especially in education. Some people believe that computers will replace human instructors in the near future. However, in my opinion, this will not happen due to the following reasons. Obviously, we are talking about human beings, not machines. A student needs to interact with the teacher and work in groups to learn. In other words, interactive sessions during teaching are important since any doubts in the student’s mind are readily resolved during such sessions. Take a new learner as an example. This person deserves attention just like a new born child whose parents play a crucial role in his/her growth. Therefore, learners should not be uncared for. Moreover, students, interacting with the teacher and the classmates, improve their social skills and learn to respect people. Unfortunately, these merits are absent in computer-based or online classes. As long as a learner learns new things and interacts with others, an urgent demand of giving immediate attention and feedback is regarded. That is why the teachers’ role in learning is indispensable and cannot be disregarded. As an example, a teacher who is present in the classroom can easily figure out whether the students are learning the topic at the current pace or any attention in the teaching method is required. Hence, this person can acknowledge the students’ deficiencies and help them improve. On the other hand, computers only teach and are not able to recognize whether the students have grasped the concepts or not. In conclusion, computers cannot be replaced by the teachers because of their inherent shortcomings. However, teachers should take advantage of technology, especially computers, to create a more practical approach of teaching.