Impact of ageing population

Nowadays, it is not surprising that people in the industrialized nations want to live longer than ever. That has caused dramatic debates among people due to its impact on the entire society. Therefore, in the upcoming paragraph, I will explore significant effects and take steps to mitigate the problems. As people live longer and the population of the developed countries grow older, several problems can be foreseen. The main issue is certainly more people in the old age who have to receive a pension. The portion of working adults and younger is smaller, that means the government will receive less money in taxes. Moreover, most elderly in this age (55-60) tend to be healthy enough to continue their jobs. Therefore, the authorities should change the policy about the retirement age of employees and raise the pension age to 60 or even 65 depending on the health of the individual. In addition, a further crisis at the cost of retirement age is an increase of the burden on adolescents due to the fact that they have to pay taxes for themselves and to support the elderly. That means adults takes most of the time and energy to look after their elderly relatives. Therefore, an approach to solve this problem may involve the government establishing some laws to encourage the households to give more births. That helps to replace the ageing population in the future and refreshing the population structure. In conclusion, the world has developed rapidly in recent years and it has positive impacts on the average life expectancy. However, the pension issue and increasing number of elderly are weighing down on the economy to solve these problems, the government should adjust the retirement age and promoting families to give more births.