Some people are of the opinion that there should be a car-free day once every month, on which no private vehicles are allowed on the road. Discuss the advantages and possible disadvantages.

A car-free day has been trending and people are more than willing to give up their own conveyance at least for a day in a month. It surely has advantages as well as disadvantages. Here, we will discuss both aspects. A day without using our own vehicle will be really beneficial for our environment. It will help in improving air quality. There will be less traffic as compared to everyday life and roads will be much more spacious. Also, it will have huge impact on saving natural resources such as petrol, diesel, gas etc. The noise levels will be low too. Many European countries have already implemented a car free day campaign resulting in which the quality of the air has improved up to some extent. European citizens look forward to this day and dedicate to the clean environment by not using their own vehicle for a day. Even in India, Delhi government experimented odd even car number rule and people certainly did not use their cars as per their car number on such a day which actually reduced the city’s pollution. On the contrary, public transport such as buses, subway might be overcrowded on such days. Some people do not feel comfortable without their own conveyance and avoid commuting via public transport. Moreover, public transport is not easily accessible at remote locations. On such a day, people would be on downside in case of any medical emergency and they would not be able to go to hospital and have to wait for ambulance only. I would like to summarize here that even though car free day is eco-friendly but if not managed and implemented well the situation would be disadvantageous.