: Modern children are suffering from diseases that were once considered to be meant for adults only. Obesity is a major disease prevalent among children. What are the causes and solutions offered?

Children in present times are suffering from the diseases that were common mainly in adults. Obesity is one such disease that prevails in them. While this can be due to an overuse of the internet and poor eating habits, this disease can be cured if parents limit their children’s usage of online media and consumption of outside food. One of the reasons why children are gaining more and more weight is because of an overuse of the internet. As digital media is incorporated with a wide range of online games, the majority of children often remain confined to their room for long hours to play games. This sitting habit will lead to a surge in their overall weight. Another major factor is that they prefer to consume junk food. Companies often lure children by promoting newly introduced junk food on television. Seeing such advertisements, they often demand their parents to order those attractive foods and ignore homemade meals. For example, many of my younger cousins mostly eat Maggie, which is junk food, almost every afternoon, and they are overweight now. The first way to solve the problem is that parents can set a time limit for their children to use the internet. Reducing their number of hours online and encouraging them to play outdoor games with friends can make them physically fit. The second method is that parents should not fulfil offspring’s demand for junk food frequently. Not fulfilling the requirement of outside food would force them to consume the meals that often contain excessive nutrients for good health. For instance, recently I had heard that children in Japan mostly consume homemade meals, and that is the main reason why they are the healthiest children across the world. To conclude, although the frequent usage of the internet and consuming unhealthy food are the major causes of diseases among children, such issues can be resolved if parents limit their children’s Internet usage and control their consumption of outside food.