Some people are of the fact that we should regard the abilities to read, speak, write using the language and understand the language when we heard it as equally essential and valuable when it comes to learning a language

Some people are of the fact that we should regard the abilities to read, speak, write using the language and understand the language when we heard it as equally essential and valuable when it comes to learning a language. From my perspective, I agree with this opinion. To start with, I believe some skills are more frequently used in certain situations and less frequently in other conditions. For instance, when you go on to a journey to a foreign country, you are not expected to read the articles written in complex language structures or write a novel using the language you learned. Instead, you may find you use listening and speaking skills more often than the other two. Meanwhile, reading reports that others published to get information and writing your essay according to it in the university is exactly the opposite. However, these abilities are all part of the language and if you only acquire some of the skills then you do not understand the nature of a language, which is expression and exchanging views. Speaking enables us to express and share our views and opinions but we should also be a good listener when other people express themselves. Understanding what they say allow us to answer accordingly and keeps the conversation going. In addition, writing and reading works in a similar way. Writing is also a way to show various opinions and people write their views down so that they don’t have to repeat it every single time verbally. As for the ability to read, not only does it help us to understand the discoveries or opinions of other people, but also enable us to enjoy the novels with beautiful words and twists and turns written in the language. All in all, I should should treat reading, writing, listening and speaking in a language as equally important as they are all part of expression and exchanging views, which are the fundamentals of a language.