Some people advocate death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society. Describe advantages and disadvantages of death penalty and give your opinion.

Many people believe that the death penalty is necessary to keep the security system efficient in society. While there are some negative aspects of capital punishment, I agree with the view that without it we will become more vulnerable to violence. The death penalty can be considered unsuitable punishment for several reasons. The strongest argument is that we have no right to kill other humans. The right to live is the basic right of any human being and no one can infringe this right, irrespective of the person’s deeds. Moreover, innocent people can face wrongful execution. Such unfair sentences take away the lives of innocent people and make other citizens lose faith in law and justice. And besides, sometimes criminals repent of their acts. In this case, they should be given a second chance to improve themselves. However, I believe that capital punishment is necessary for society. Firstly, it is an effective deterrent to major crimes. The best method to prevent a person from committing a crime is to show the consequences of his or her actions. For example, the government of Pakistan has controlled the rate of terrorism by enforcing death penalties for the members of terrorist organizations. Secondly, the governments spend large sums of the national budget on the maintenance of prisoners. Instead, this money can be used for the development of the society and welfare of the people. To sum up, although capital punishment has some disadvantages, I think that it proves to be the best way of controlling criminals, lessening governmental expenses, and preventing other people from doing crimes.