Some parents think children should have mobile phones; others disagree. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

A few guardians believe it is a good idea for their offspring to own a cell phone while some others have a contrary view. I am of the opinion that, a mobile phone provides an avenue for, and allows, easy communication between parents and their children. This essay will lecture on the other view as well in more details. Prohibiting children from having mobile phones, according to some fathers and mothers is acceptable. The reason for this is largely due to the belief that kids generally get fascinated with learning new things. The excitement and obsession with being able to operate a mobile phone, especially smartphones, could be distracting with this having adverse effects on their academic performances especially where same is largely assigned for entertainment and not educational purposes. The broader relevance of giving phones to children remains vital, if not, more, important. The major reason is to ensure communication between parents and their children as well as safety and security of a child which ultimately, is every parents main concern. A parent is the child’s first rescue contact when in an emergency or threatening situation. With improved technology: Global Positioning System (GPS), Mobile Network and the Wireless Fidelity (Wi-Fi), the whereabouts of these children can be monitored by their guardian efficiently, hence, restoring security for offsprings in the society with the use of advance technology and a mobile handset. To Sum up, it is true that some people oppose the usage of cellular phone by minors. However, I opine that children should have a mobile phone for safety precautions.